Paris – May 2010

I, like most Brits, have been to Paris many times. After all, it’s quicker, easier and sometimes even cheaper to get the Eurostar from London to Paris than it is to travel to Glasgow. Indeed, I was last in France 6 months ago!

My mini-challenge to myself was to explore off the beaten track & take some non-touristy photos on my journey…


OK, so I may have failed at image 1. But I was quite amused by this little model ; I’m sure 1900s Montmatre looked *just* like that – triffid-style!


More sobering – skulls in the Paris Catacombs. Tricky to photograph in very low light, but trust me, these are real skulls, and there are thousands of skeletons stacked up underneath the city. Not one for the faint-of-heart!


Why do you stand, looking at the sky?


These padlocks were left by couples, or close friends, to signify their love. The Paris authorities removed all the padlocks a few days later. Time will tell whether they’ve won that battle…


A poodle at a vintage car rally in Versailles. Le woof!


This only shows about 25% of the gardens at the Palace of Versailles – there was plenty of walkway behind me, and they stretch as far as the eye can see, in almost every direction. Louis XV (or his son?) bought two villages and extended his already spacious gardens over them. Ridiculous, but totally in keeping with the rest of the Palace’s history.

There we have a whistle-stop tour of my trip to Paris. Tres chic? Non! 😉

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

