Oh Look – Soviet Animation!

Vinni Pukh – the Russian Winnie the Pooh by Soyuzmultfilm. Hand drawn/animated from little paper cut-outs, and somehow much more sweet and appealing than Disney’s version. If I recall correctly, it’s almost exactly the same as the original A A Milne story, except that Vinni is a “real” bear, not a toy. Therefore there is no Christopher Robin. Apparently the animators thought that (to paraphrase) the ”is this bear real? If so, and Christopher Robin is controlling him, who is controlling Christopher Robin?! Who really exists in this world? Are WE real?!?” side of things was too complicated for children. Well, I never thought of it that way.

Research shows that they also made The Hedgehog in the Fog – I remember seeing that on TV years ago and thinking how beautiful it was then. Looking back, I wasn’t wrong:

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Oh Look – Soviet Animation!”

  1. mashadutoit Says:

    what a coincidence…I just discovered Hedghog in the Fog a couple of days ago. So lovely, I wish I could find it on DVD somewhere so that I can see it properly šŸ™‚

  2. Niffiwan Says:

    Hi, I stumbled upon this site while looking through Youtube’s “insight” statistics. I must say that you have wonderful artwork on your blog!

    The director of this film wrote about his reasons for excluding Christopher Robin. I translated his words over here:
    http://niffiwan.livejournal.com/15761.html

  3. Niffiwan Says:

    If you’d like to see more great Russian animation, might I suggest looking through the lists of wordless and subtitled films that can be found on the “Animatsiya Wiki” (I can’t seem to post the link here because of a spam filter, so you’ll need to Google it)

    One of my personal favourites is “The Tree and the Cat”

Leave a Reply

